Kushal Malla, Dipendra Singh lead Nepal's record-breaking day out

by   •  Last updated on
Malla is now the fastest T20 centurion
Malla is now the fastest T20 centurion © Getty

Nineteen-year-old Kushal Malla's 34-ball hundred, now the fastest T20I hundred, headlined Nepal's memorable and massive 273-run win over Mongolia in their Asian Games fixture in Hangzhou.

Some of the other records that went down included the highest team total (314/3) in T20 cricket and the first over the 300-run mark, the fastest T20 fifty (9 balls) by Dipendra Singh, and the largest victory margin in T20 cricket.

The innings began relatively sedately as Kushal Bhurtel and Aasif Sheikh were both dismissed before the 8-over mark, going at a run-rate of close to 10. However, both scored at slower than a run-a-ball and were aided by the extras dished out by Mongolia's bowlers with the new ball.

It was then that Rohit Paudel joined Kushal Malla at the crease, and put on an unprecedented stand of 193 runs in 65 balls. Malla got to his century off 34 balls, going past the hitherto fastest T20I hundred record of 35 balls, which was jointly held by India's Rohit Sharma, South Africa's David Miller and Czech Republic's Sudesh Wickramasekara.

The fourth-wicket stand, which provided the final flourish, topped everything that was on show. The stand yielded 55 runs in 11 balls at a strike-rate of 500, of which the new batter, Dipendra Singh, hammered eight sixes in a record nine-ball fifty.

Nepal ended with 314.3 but Mongolia's misery hadn't ended yet.

The run-chase lasted all of 79 balls, in which Mongolia managed 41 runs, with one batter getting into double figures and not a single partnership exceeding 9. The batters aggregated all of 18 runs in the innings (which included 5 ducks), but the 23 extras far outscored all the batters put together to get the total up to 41.

The extras bowled in this match yielded a jaw-dropping 52 runs, as Mongolia crashed to a 273-run defeat against Nepal.

Brief Scores: Nepal 314-3 in 20 overs (Kushal Malla 137*, Rohit Paudel 61, Dipendra Singh 52*, Luvsanzundui Erdenebulgan 1-47) beat Mongolia 41 all-out in 13.1 overs (Davaasuren Jamyasuren 10, Karan KC 2-1, Abinash Bohara 2-2, Sandeep Lamichhane 2-7) by 273 runs




Move to top